Saturday, 12 March 2011

#499 - "This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours" - Manic Street Preachers

Released on:  Epic, 1998

Everything Must Go, the album directly preceding this one in the Manic's canon, was the first album where batshit-crazy lyricist/rhythm guitarist Richey Edwards wasn't physically present.  On This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours, not even the remnants of Edwards' lyrics were left; instead, bassist Nicky Wire took over writing the lyrics and the band soldiered on.  What came out was a sweeping album that embraced a new maturity that pointed the way for every subsequent Manics album.

Where You'd Know It From:  "If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next" was the band's first #1 hit from their only #1 album.  Thom Yorke reportedly sang portions of it in the middle of "Everything In It's Right Place" during the Kid A tour.

Track Listing:
1. The Everlasting (6:13)
2.  If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next (4:53)
3.  You Stole The Sun From My Heart (4:22)
4.  Ready For Drowning (4:34)
5.  Tsunami (3:53)
6.  My Little Empire (4:11)
7.  I'm Not Working (5:53)
8.  You're Tender And You're Tired (4:39)
9.  Born A Girl (4:14)
10.  Be Natural (5:14)
11.  Black Dog On My Shoulder (4:50)
12.  Nobody Loved You (4:46)
13.  S.Y.M.M. (5:57)

Download It:


No comments:

Post a Comment