Wednesday, 30 March 2011

#476 - "My Brother The Cow" - Mudhoney

Released On:  Reprise Records, 1995

Starting off with the seasick punk riffery of "Judgement, Rage, Retribution and Thyme" and ending with the Stooges-honoring feedback-soaked ocean of "1995", My Brother The Cow is one of the finest slabs of Pac-Northwest rock ever conceived.  The sludge that informed and characterized their earlier releases (like the corroded garage-punk of "Touch Me I'm Sick") is still there in large part, but the songs contained here are tougher, and more cohesive.  The group's trademark snark is still intact; "Generation Spokesmodel" takes wide swipes at Eddie Vedder, while "F.D.K." lampoons Christian fundamentalists mercilessly and "Into Yer Shtik" tells an unnamed copycat of the late Kurt Cobain to blow their brains out too.  Mudhoney would come close to achieving this level throughout the rest of their career but never quite made it.

Where You'd Know It From:  Grunge completeists and hip punk rockers from the mid-90's will have this one  kicking around their collection.

Track Listing:
1.  Judgement, Rage, Retribution And Thyme (2:34)
2.  Generation Spokesmodel (2:33)
3.  What Moves The Heart? (3:12)
4.  Today, Is A Good Day (3:05)
5.  Into Yer Shtik (3:48)
6.  In My Finest Suit (4:57)
7.  F.D.K. (Fearless Doctor Killers) (2:16)
8.  Orange Ball-peen Hammer (3:21)
9.  Crankcase Blues (3:06)
10.  Execution Style (2:24)
11.  Dissolve (3:17)
12.  1995 (5:43)
13.  woC ehT rehtorB yM (39:00) *Hidden Track*

("Judgement Rage Retribution And Thyme")

("Generation Spokesmodel")

("Into Yer Shtik")

No comments:

Post a Comment