Monday, 28 March 2011

#479 - "Since I Left You" - The Avalanches

Released On:  Modular Recordings, 2000

This album was never meant to be widely distributed.  As such, the Australian duo dove in headfirst with a pair of samplers and patched together electronic funk made out of snippets of other people's recordings.  3500 samples, to be exact.  The results are endlessly fascinating, a funky, carefree world that always changes just when you think you've heard it all.  It's a tour de force of sampling, and a definite slap in the face to anyone who claims that there's no talent to be found in the art.

Where You'd Know It From:  It was on the Billboard Electronic Albums chart for a bit, also if you happen to be Australian they released five singles from the album.

Track Listing:
1.  Since I Left You (4:22)
2.  Stay Another Season (2:18)
3.  Radio (4:22)
4.  Two Hearts In 3/4 Time (3:23)
5.  Avalanche Rock (0:22)
6.  Flight Tonight (3:53)
7.  Close To You (3:54)
8.  Diners Only (1:35)
9.  A Different Feeling (4:22)
10.  Electricity (3:29)
11.  Tonight (2:20)
12.  Pablo's Cruise (0:52)
13.  Frontier Psychiatrist (4:47)
14.  Etoh (5:02)
15.  Summer Crane (4:38)
16.  Little Journey (1:35)
17.  Live At Dominoes (5:39)
18.  Extra Kings (3:46)

("Frontier Psychiatrist")

("Since I Left You")


No comments:

Post a Comment