Wednesday, 16 March 2011

#493 - "This Is Our Music" - Galaxie 500

Released On:  Rough Trade, 1990

While This Is Our Music was never meant to be their final album, it feels like the perfect spot to end; the band always made dreamy, liquid music, but here the dream was starting to spiral down into sleep, and it was a good feeling.  The brash, electric feel of their two previous albums is still present in places:  see the relatively hard-charging lead-off track "Fourth Of July" (with it's "Candy Says"-nicking coda) and the shoegaze guitar-heroics of "Summertime" for further details.  The real centerpiece, however, is the band's hushed, gorgeous cover of Yoko Ono's "Listen, The Snow Is Falling", which approximates the sound of waking up beside someone you love with the sun filtering beautifully through the blinds.

Where You'd Know It From:  That indie-kid boyfriend you had in college who was always making you mixtapes.

Track Listing:
1.  Fourth Of July (5:36)
2.  Hearing Voices (3:34)
3.  Spook (4:37)
4.  Summertime (5:59)
5.  Way Up High (4:04)
6.  Listen, The Snow Is Falling (7:48)
7.  Sorry (4:15)
8.  Melt Away (4:36)
9.  King Of Spain, Part Two (5:08)

Download It:


("Fourth Of July")


("Listen, The Snow Is Falling")

No comments:

Post a Comment